The edcat Mission

edcat wants to augment visibility for artists’ publications and create a source and tool for exploring and engaging with the field of artists’ publications.

edcat’s mission is to

- bridge the gap between all actors in the artists’ publication field: artists, publishers, distributors, libraries and archives, collectors, researchers and the general public by providing a ressource and communication platform.

- collect and preserve information about artists’ publications from all accessible sources and collaborators in one place to make them freely available to the interested public in an well organized database.

- create a tool for collaborative organizing and preserving cultural information

- identify artists’ publications as a special type of object and to provide these identifications to the public and institutions.

- discover amazing artworks


Read the Docs / Get Help

How to support edcat

Feedback Forum


Images on edcat

Images are handled with great respect to the owners of the images. Therefore we only allow our contributors to upload
- images from sources that granted the permission to use these images on edcat
- images that were directly produced by the users
- images that were made available through a CC0 "No Rights Reserved" license. 
- images that fall under the fair use right for product images.
If you discover images on edcat that don’t follow these rules, violate any copyrights or are showing your artworks and you don’t want to allow the use of them then please report them to us immediatlely.



edcat was started as a research project by Jan Steinbach and is operated from Zurich, Switzerland.

Current Team: Jan Steinbach, Tilman Schlevogt, Adriana Lara, Evangelos Kleimann, Kristin Brüggemann.

Technical advisor and engineering: Sandro Nardi

Development and Design:

Collaborators and Supporters (among others): Christoph Schifferli, Tarek Issaoui, Benjamin Sommerhalder, Hubert Kretschmer, Antoine Lefebvre.