image source: JRP | Ringier

Publisher Note english

"Black Noise" is a box set of 32 publications conceived according to the model of American comic books. Each volume is designed by a different artist, linked in some way to Steven Parrino, by projects and exchanges, by friendship, by reciprocal inspiration. "Black Noise" celebrates a format that Steven Parrino was fond of, a culture that was familiar to him. The only constraint upon the authors invited in spring 2005 was the format and the title of the overall publication. Some directly evoke Steven Parrino's personality, whereas others produce a less referential contribution.

Works by Rich Aldrich, John M Armleder, Fia Backström, Sophie Bernhard, Peter Coffin, Philippe Decrauzat, Vidya Gastaldon & Fabrice Stroun, Gabrielle Giattino & Sara Turner, Janine Gordon, Kim Gordon, Amy Granat, Drew Heitzler & Flora Wiegman, Jutta Koether, Alix Lambert, Balthazar Lovay, Brendan Majewski, Christian Marclay, Mass, John Miller, Thurston Moore, Olivier Mosset, Chuck Nanney, Genesis P-Orridge, Mai-Thu Perret, Carissa Rodriguez, Aura Rosenberg, Michael Scott, John Terhorst, Blair Thurman, John Tremblay, Elizabeth Valdez, and Joan Wallace

Artists’ Book

Black Noise, Boxset Edition

by Various Artists

Release Place Switzerland
Release Date 2007
ISBN 978-3-905770-94-0
Artist: Various Artists
Language English
Format hardcover
Dimensions 27.0 × 17.5 cm
Pages 480

last updated 680 days ago

Data Contributor: Vice Versa

Created by edcat

Edited by edcat, edcat_research