Front Cover


(346 pages?)

Publisher Note

First published in 1964 in Tokyo by Wunternaum Press in an edition of 500 copies, Grapefruit contains more than 150 works divided into five sections: MUSIC, PAINTING, EVENT, POETRY, OBJECT. These works—conceptual instructions—are the culmination of a process that dispensed with the physical and arrived at the idea.

Since the initial publication of Grapefruit, numerous expanded editions have been produced in many different languages. Today, first-edition copies are nearly impossible to find. This special-edition facsimile, produced from the first edition copy in The Museum of Modern Art Library, is an exacting replica of Grapefruit as Ono first envisioned it. It is available in a limited edition of 500 copies.

Artists’ Book


by Yoko Ono

Release Date 2015
Artist: Yoko Ono
Printrun 500
Dimensions 5.5 × 5.5 × 1.5 inch

1 institution has this

Christoph Schifferli

last updated 166 days ago

Created by edcat

Edited by edcat