image source: Vice Versa

Publisher Note english

Broken Music is an essential compendium for records created by visual artists. The publication was edited by Ursula Block and Michael Glasmeier and originally published in 1989 by DAAD.

Broken Music focuses on recordings, record-objects, artwork for records, and record installations made by thousands of artists between WWII and 1989. It also includes essays by both editors as well as Theodor W. Adorno, René Block, Jean Dubuffet, Milan Knizak, Laszlo Moholy-Nagy, Christiane Seiffert, and Hans Rudolf Zeller, as well as a flexi disc of the Arditti Quartet performing Knizak’s “Broken Music.” The centerpiece of the publication is a nearly 200-page bibliography of artists’ records.

Art Theory

Broken Music

by Michael Glasmeier

Edition 1st edition
Release Date October 2018
Printrun 2000
ISBN-13: 9781732098602
Subform Music, Music Theory, Records, Vintage Records
Language English
Format Softcover
Dimensions 21.0 × 26.0 cm
Pages 280

last updated 187 days ago

Data Contributor: Vice Versa

Created by edcat

Edited by edcat