Cover, © Gloria Glitzer


»Dissonant Counterpoint« was developed in occasion of Diana Policarpo’s same titled exhibition at KV – Verein für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig. Curated by Anna Jehle and Juliane Schickedanz.

»Johanna Magdalena Beyer (*1888 Leipzig, †1944 New York) was most likely the first woman to compose for electronic instruments such as the theremin. One of her most important works is her unfinished, political opera ›Status Quo‹ which she began in 1938. Conceived in four acts, its central motifs explore both social criticism and utopianism. Only the opening and the end of the piece, titled ›Music of Spheres‹, are still extant as musical scores, whereas other parts have only survived as graphical notations or sketches.

Johanna Beyer’s passion for astrology and political activism form the springboard for Diana Policarpo to recreate Beyer’s personhood, life story and her unfinished music in her artwork.« — KV Leipzig

Concept & production by Gloria Glitzer
Text by Anna Jehle and Juliane Schickedanz
Translation by Amanda Oliver
Copy-editing by Peter Hermans

Publisher self-published
Release Place Leipzig, Germany
Edition 1st edition
Release Date 10th November 2017
Printrun 250
Availability Out of Print
Subform Artzine, Exhibition Pubilication
Topics Diana Policarpo, Electronic Music, Female Composer, Johanna Magdalena Beyer
Methods Appropriation, Collage, Conceptual Art
Dimensions 20.5 × 28.0 cm
Pages 44
Technique Offset, Risography, Rubber Stamped

1 institution has this

Sammlung Verein Das Kunstbuch

last updated 1865 days ago

Created by gloriaglitzer

Edited by edcat_editor, gloriaglitzer